10/19/12 17:26

History and Mandate

Helping members to prevent, control and eradicate animal diseases


The OIE Sub-Regional Representation for South-East Asia (SRR-SEA) was formally established on 28 June 2010 upon the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between OIE and the Government of Thailand.  Hosted by Thailand’s Department of Livestock Development (DLD), the SRR-SEA evolved from the South East Asia Foot and Mouth Disease Regional Coordination Unit (SEAFMD RCU) created for the control of FMD in South East Asia to coordinate prevention, control and eradication efforts in partner countries.  

SEAFMD was founded in 1997 by the following member countries: Cambodia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Thailand and Vietnam. In 2010, the OIE and ASEAN supported the membership of the remaining ASEAN countries (Brunei Darussalam and Singapore) and China, which has resulted in a vastly-expanded programme that was renamed the South-East Asia and China Foot and Mouth Disease campaign (SEACFMD). 

To this date, Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia and Singapore remain free of FMD without vaccination. Sabah and Sarawak have been recognized by OIE as FMD-free without vaccination. The Philippines, where FMD has not been observed since 2005 and vaccination not practised since 2009, was recognised by OIE as FMD-free without vaccination in 2011.

SEACFMD is globally recognised as a model in the regional control of a priority transboundary animal disease. 

Read more on History.....


The OIE SRR SEA was established to coordinate not only an expanded FMD ‘Flagship’ Campaign, but also contribute to highly pathogenic emerging diseases and zoonoses activities including rabies, drive programmes to strengthen veterinary services, and importantly  deliver improvements  to OIE representation in the Region.

Key to meeting the OIE and SRR-SEA programme mandate is the support and leadership of national governments and regional organisations such as ASEAN.  Their policy and strategic contributions to SRR-SEA activities as well as support for national activities are essential if the SRR-SEA is to meet its objectives. 


Support for this enlarged and integrated multi-sector thrust has been provided by Thailand, with Australia through the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, the European Union and United States being major donors and with additional support provided by other countries including France, Japan, and New Zealand. International agencies, such as the Food and Agriculture Organisation of the United Nations (FAO), Australian Center for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR) and World Health Organisation (WHO), have been and are involved as collaborators in SRR-SEA activities.